April 2010

BHP Billiton has appointed Glenn Kellow president, Stainless Steel Materials. Gerard Bond, who was the CFO of Stainless Steel Materials and who has been acting president, will assume the role of project director in the Finance Group. Jac Fourie will succeed Kellow at New Mexico Coal.

Read more ...

March 2010

BHP Billiton announced the appointment of Chris Campbell as president of its iron ore business, replacing Ian Ashby who will become CEO of the Western Australia Iron Ore production joint venture with Rio Tinto. In his new role, Campbell will have overall responsibility for the company’s global iron ore operations. The company also announced that Don Argus will retire as chairman and a non-executive director. Paul Anderson and Dr. Gail de Planque have retired from the board of directors, and Malcolm Broomhead and Carolyn Hewson will be appointed non-executive directors at the end of March.

Read more ...

January/February 2010

Barrick Gold Corp. announced that Executive Vice Chairman, Greg Wilkins, recently passed away. Wilkins served as president and CEO from 2003 to March 2008. He had been a member of the company’s board of directors since 1991. Over the course of his career, he held a succession of increasingly senior roles, including CFO in the early 1990s. He took the lead in executing Barrick’s acquisition of Placer Dome Inc., a bold move that vaulted Barrick to its industry position today as the world’s leading gold miner and one of Canada’s most prominent companies.

Read more ...

Resource Center Whitepapers, Videos, Case Studies

Let's stay in touch!

All of the latest mining news and our digital edition sent to your inbox once a week.

We'll never share your email address, and you can opt out at any time, we promise.